Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pro Flo and Pro Flo 2 questions

Newbie here:

I am working on a 68 Firebird with a ZR-1 V8 for a customer. The customer bought the car, engine and Pro Flow system about 10 years ago and now is having me finish the build. (arrrgh) The owner wanted a Trans -Am shaker type hood so i fabbed one to work with the Pro Flo system on the car. Now we discover that the Pro Flo system is hopelessly out of date, and a newer system will not work with the (highly desired by the customer) shaker air intake. So we are determined to make the old system work. We were missing a lots of the original Pro Flo wiring harness and through some miracle, the owner sourced me a new complete harness and electronics for a Pro Flo 2. I have figured out all the connections except a few.

I know I need the air temp sensor for the air cleaner (part 3588) which is in stock and available.

I do not have the ignition coil that came with the original Mallory distributor, does anyone know what ohm coil I need to use???

Also there is a vacuum valve attached on the drivers side front fuel rail (see picture). Based on the pictures supplied with the new harness, this is not used on the PF2. I should have fuel regulator 1729 and install it in the cross over line between the fuel rails on the rear side, right? Then the fuel line from the pump tees into the crossover line on the front side between the fuel rails. The return line to the tank is the bottom port on the regulator. I size the fuel pump based on the HP chart in the manual, then set fuel rail pressure using the regulator 1729.

Can anyone tell me if i have that right??

THANKS

Jayhawkbob
    Vacuum operated valve on the fuel rail I think this is the regulator I need

For an ignition coil you can run a MSD Blaster 2.